The Northeast Arkansas Regional Archives (NEARA) branch of the Arkansas State Archives is located within Powhatan Historic State Park. It collects and preserves preserve primary and secondary source materials pertaining to a 16-county region in Northeast Arkansas, encompassing the counties of: Baxter, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Randolph, Sharp, and Stone.

NEARA holdings include traditional archival material such as letters, diaries, maps, photographs, newspapers, and broadsides. The NEARA collection includes approximately 500 cubic feet of Lawrence County government records, donated by the Lawrence County Historical Society. These county records are among Arkansas's earliest documentary resources, dating back to the earliest decades of the 19th century. Records from numerous counties in the region are also available on microfilm; books, periodicals, and other print resources create a general Arkansas history reference library.


Browse the NEARA Collections:

NEARA finding aids

NEARA microfilm collection inventories

NEARA vertical files