Date Original



This collection contains the public hearing minutes of the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission from 2017 and 2018.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission was created by Act 105 in 1939. At that time, the Commission consisted of seven members with industry knowledge, appointed by the governor to serve staggered six year terms. Act 680 of 1985 added two members to the Commission and specified that industry knowledge would not be a requirement for service by individuals holding these two positions. The purpose and mission of the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission is to prevent waste and encourage conservation of Arkansas oil, natural gas, and brine resources, to protect the correlative rights associated with those resources, and to respect the environment during the production, extraction, and transportation of those resources. The Commission maintains administrative offices in Little Rock, Arkansas, and district offices in El Dorado and Fort Smith. Approximately 48,000 permits to drill have been issued by the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission since its creation in 1939. The Commission maintains well records as well as information pertinent to the general public and regulated community regarding the oil and gas industry in Arkansas.

Physical Description

Document, 8.5" x 11"

Geographical Area






Resource Type



Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission records, MS.000904


Arkansas State Archives

Contributing Entity

Arkansas State Archives

Recommended Citation

Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission records, Arkansas State Archives, Little Rock, Arkansas.


Use and reproduction of images held by the Arkansas State Archives without prior written permission is prohibited. For information on reproducing images held by the Arkansas State Archives, please call 501-682-6900 or email at


United States History