Date Original

1868 November 4


This collection contains a proclamation from Governor Powell Clayton proclaiming martial law in Ashley, Bradley, Columbia, Lafayette, Mississippi, Woodruff, Craighead, Green, Sevier, and Little River Counties, due to Ku Klux Klan activity.

Biographical/Historical Note

Powell Clayton (1833-1914) was a Union general who settled in Arkansas after the Civil War and became governor during the Reconstruction period. He participated in the Battle of Helena, the campaign against Little Rock, and the Camden Expedition. After the war, he entered politics in Arkansas by helping to form the state's Republican Party and was inaugurated governor on July 2, 1868. Soon after, there was an outbreak of violence from the KKK against African Americans and Republicans, including an assassination attempt against Clayton himself. He responded to this by organizing the State Melita and declaring martial law in parts of the state, which was effective.

Physical Description

Document, 8.5" x 11"

Geographical Area

Ashley County (Ark.); Bradley County (Ark.); Columbia County (Ark.); Lafayette County (Ark.); Mississippi County (Ark.); Woodruff County (Ark.); Craighead County (Ark.); Green County (Ark.); Sevier County (Ark.); Little River County (Ark.)





Resource Type



Governor Powell Clayton proclamation, SMC.OV.091


Arkansas State Archives

Contributing Entity

Arkansas State Archives

Recommended Citation

Governor Powell Clayton proclamation, Arkansas State Archives, Little Rock, Arkansas.


Use and reproduction of images held by the Arkansas State Archives without prior written permission is prohibited. For information on reproducing images held by the Arkansas State Archives, please call 501-682-6900 or email at


United States History