Date Original

1916 January 22; 24


This collection contains two letters, one from John H. Arnold, president of Hope School Board and in charge of Negro School, addressed to Leo M. Faurot, State Agent Rural Schools for Negroes, Little Rock, Arkansas, dated January 22, 1916, along with Faurot's reply dated January 24, 1916.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Negro Rural School Fund, also known as the Anna T. Jeanes Foundation, was established in 1907 by Philadelphia Quaker and philanthropist Anna Thomas Jeanes during the final year of her life. She approached her friend Booker T. Washington with a plan to set up a fund for rural elementary schools for African Americans, and entrusted $1,000,000 to that endeavor. Shortly before her death, she requested that the foundation's board remain integrated, with Washington serving alongside Andrew Carnegie, President Taft, and others. The Negro Rural School Fund was absorbed into the Southern Education Foundation in 1937.

Physical Description

Document, 8.5" x 11"

Geographical Area

Hope, Hempstead County (Ark.); Little Rock, Pulaski County (Ark.)





Resource Type



Leo M. Faurot/John H. Arnold letters, SMC.083.005


Arkansas State Archives

Contributing Entity

Arkansas State Archives

Recommended Citation

Leo M. Faurot/John H. Arnold letters, Arkansas State Archives, Little Rock, Arkansas.


Use and reproduction of images held by the Arkansas State Archives without prior written permission is prohibited. For information on reproducing images held by the Arkansas State Archives, please call 501-682-6900 or email at


United States History