Date Original



This collection contains the final report by the WCHS titled: Contributions of Post Civil War African American Pioneer Families in Washington County.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Washington County Historical Society (WCHS) was founded in 1951 by Walter J. Lemke, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville professor of journalism. One of the earliest historical societies in Arkansas, the WCHS is headquartered at the Headquarters House Museum located in Fayetteville’s historic district. This project was funded by a grant from the Curtis H. Sykes Memorial grant program administered by the Black History Commission of Arkansas. The Black History Commissioner of Arkansas (BHCA) was created by Act 1233 of 1991 and is composed of seven members appointed by the governor with approval of the Senate. The BHCA is charged with preserving the history of black Arkansans and black communities in Arkansas. This commission also encourages research of Arkansas’ black history and promotes teaching black history in Arkansas schools. Grants are awarded from the BHCA in a concerted effort to ensure Arkansas’ black history is collected and preserved. The Curtis H. Sykes Memorial Grant Program was established in 2009 by Act 660 to honor the program’s namesake who served as chair of the commission from 1993-2007.

Physical Description

Document, 8.5" x 11"

Geographical Area

Washington County (Ark.)





Resource Type



Washington County Historical Society grant project final report, BHC.001.008


Arkansas State Archives

Contributing Entity

Arkansas State Archives

Recommended Citation

Washington County Historical Society grant project final report, Arkansas State Archives, Little Rock, Arkansas.


Use and reproduction of images held by the Arkansas State Archives without prior written permission is prohibited. For information on reproducing images held by the Arkansas State Archives, please call 501-682-6900 or email at


United States History