Arkansas is divided into political subdivisions or administrative districts called counties. Today, the state contains seventy-five counties, but only five existed at the time of Arkansas Territory’s establishment in 1819: Arkansas (1813), Lawrence (1815), Clark (1818), Hempstead (1818), and Pulaski (1818).

Those five original counties were geographically large and sparsely populated. As the new territory’s population grew, additional counties were created from the original five through subdivision and realignment. The final county to be established was Cleburne, in 1883, although a few boundary changes have occurred since that time. Each county’s center of government is called a county seat. Most Arkansas counties have one county seat, but some have two.

For a listing of county records microfilm please visit County records microfilm collection.

Newspapers from all counties can be found at ASA newspaper microfilm inventory.


Browse the County and local records Collections:

Arkansas County

Ashley County

Baxter County

Benton County

Boone County

Bradley County

Calhoun County

Carroll County

Chicot County

Clark County

Clay County

Cleburne County

Cleveland County

Columbia County

Conway County

Craighead County

Crawford County

Crittenden County

Cross County

Dallas County

Desha County

Drew County

Faulkner County

Franklin County

Fulton County

Garland County

Grant County

Greene County

Hempstead County

Hot Spring County

Howard County

Independence County

Izard County

Jackson County

Jefferson County

Johnson County

Lafayette County

Lawrence County

Lee County

Lincoln County

Little River County

Logan County

Lonoke County

Madison County

Marion County

Miller County

Mississippi County

Monroe County

Montgomery County

Nevada County

Newton County

Ouachita County

Perry County

Phillips County

Pike County

Poinsett County

Polk County

Pope County

Prairie County

Pulaski County

Randolph County

Saline County

Scott County

Searcy County

Sebastian County

Sevier County

Sharp County

St. Francis County

Stone County

Union County

Van Buren County

Washington County

White County

Woodruff County

Yell County